British Standard BS5839-6…

…categorises fire alarm systems into grades ranging from A to F, with A being the highest and F the lowest. These grades indicate the system’s quality and sophistication, tailored to meet specific requirements.

Domestic Fire Alarm Systems

Most residential properties utilise fire alarm systems in the D and F grade range. These systems typically feature battery-powered or mains-connected smoke detectors, providing basic fire protection.

Commercial Fire Alarm Systems

Businesses and commercial establishments often require more advanced fire alarm systems, falling into the A and C grade categories. These systems incorporate multiple technologies, such as smoke detectors, heat detectors, sounders, and indicating equipment, offering comprehensive fire detection and notification capabilities.

What Is A Grade A Fire Alarm System?

Grade A fire alarm systems offer a high level of protection and control, and must conform to British Standards (BS EN 54). They comprise of separate smoke/heat detectors, a central control panel, alarm sounders, and support equipment โ€“ all with a back-up power supply.

Note: There is currently no Grade B level fire alarm system

What Is A Grade C Fire Alarm System?

Grade C fire alarm systems comprise fire detectors and alarm sounders (often in the form of smoke alarms), with central control equipment, running on a common power supply (can be paired with an intruder alarm), comprising the normal mains as well as a standby supply.

What Is A Grade D1 Fire Alarm System?

Grade D1 fire alarm systems comprise at least one mains-powered detector, each backed up by a tamper-proof, battery-powered standby supply.

What Is A Grade D2 Fire Alarm System?

Much like Grade D1 fire alarm systems, Grade D2 systems comprise at least one mains-powered detector. However, instead of being tamper proof, each standby supply consists of user-replaceable battery or batteries.

Note: There is currently no Grade E level fire alarm system

What Is A Grade F1 Fire Alarm System?

A Grade F1 fire alarm system will comprise of at least one tamper-proof battery-powered detector.

What Is A Grade F2 Fire Alarm System?

Again, like the Grade D1 and D2 systems, the difference here is that a Grade F2 fire alarm system comprises of at least one user-replaceable battery-powered detector, rather than a tamper-proof battery-powered detector.

By understanding fire alarm grades, property owners can select the appropriate system to meet their specific needs, ensuring optimal fire safety and compliance with the relevant regulations.

To discuss your fire safety requirements, and for a free no-obligation survey at your property, contact CIA Fire & Security today. We are registered to BAFE SP101 for the service and maintenance of portable fire extinguishers, and BAFE SP203-1 for the design, installation, commissioning and maintenance of fire detection and alarm systems – all third-party certified by the National Security Inspectorate (NSI).

๐Ÿ“ž 01285 651 025

Share This Story: